Why She Wrote: A Graphic History of the Lives, Inspiration, and Influence Behind the Pens of Classic Women Writers

by Lauren Burke, Hannah K. Chapman, and Kaley Bales


Review:

Why She Wrote is compelling read! The book highlights a significant moment of the writer’s life and retells it through engaging and accessible comics, along with biographical text, bibliographies, and fun facts. The half narrative and half graphic novel combination was unique but very well executed. It highlighted some of the most renowned classic writers like Jane Austen and Louisa May Alcott to the relatively lesser known ones (to me anyway) like Edith Maude Eaton, and Anne Lister (I haven’t read her work yet but I fell in love with her). The narrative provided made me appreciate their works (more so than before) and made me eager to get to the ones that I haven’t read (YET).

My to-be-read pile keeps piling up! 

With that being said, I give props to the authors for working with what they had. It was said in the book that there wasn’t much information on some of the authors (for example, Ann Radcliffe) and there was speculation on others (for example, Jane Austen’s life in Bath) and the ‘significant moments’ can also be argued as speculation. Thus, the book isn’t 100% accurate, I personally don’t mind taking everything into consideration, but it’s important to note. 

Question, will this book become a series? Because there were a couple (A LOT) of female authors excluded from this narrative. 

Overall, it was original, very inspiring and a must read for readers of all ages and genders.

I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher, Chronicle Books, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank You. 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started